Tier Classification: The Role of UPS

Developed by The Uptime Institute, the Tier Classification and Performance Standard defines four levels of availability for a complete site, ranging from the basic Tier l to Tier lV, which describes the highest possible data processing availability (more here).

Tier classification does not refer to a certain tecnology or design, it is a methodology used to determine availability in a facility. It’s up to the operator how he achieves the goals.

But as Alan Luscombe, director at Uninterruptible Power Supplies Ltdwrites, writes in a recent article, the Tier Classification offers some key guidelines for power system specifications:

„They include the UPS’s need to protect from power spikes and sags as well as momentary power failures, plus the requirement for an engine generator to cater for longer-duration outages. Redundancy, modularity and the ability to perform maintenance and repairs without shutdown also become essential for higher tiers.“

Read more here to find out how modern, modular UPS topology can be deployed to comply with these characteristics»

Related posts:

This entry was posted in Efficiency, Reliability and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response

  1. Great article! Im sure this will help alot of people learn to understand UPS.

    Very informative.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *